FAQs — Micromobility
(Scooter and bicycle rentals)

Why is the City allowing scooter/bicycle rentals?
The micro-mobility sharing option will provide a convenient, safe and cost-effective option for first-mile, last-mile
trips to help residents and visitors get where they’re going at an affordable rate.

Who is providing the vehicles?

The City has a contract with Veo. The company provides similar services in 35 cities throughout the U.S., including
St. Petersburg and Gainesville. The City’s Parking Management and Mobility Division will provide contractual
oversight of the new mobility operation.

Where can you rent them?
The Veo app provides a map showing where vehicles are available for rent.

There are multiple locations around the city, mostly located in densely populated areas. City staff and Veo
representatives determine pick-up/drop-off locations.

On-street parking areas typically are located near street corners or bulb out medians and can be identified by
looking for white surface mounted delineators in striped out areas. Other parking areas include “wide and open”
sidewalks which may be marked “RESTRICED — VEO PARKING ONLY.”

What are the basic rules of ridership?
In the State of Florida, scooters operate under state bicycle regulations.

1. Scooters must yield to pedestrians.

Ride with, and in same direction, as traffic.

Ride in bike lanes, or active lane if speed limit is less than 30 mph.
Park in designated spots identified in the Veo App.

Stay clear of no ride zones.
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Don’t lend your rental vehicle to family or friends.

Where can these vehicles park? Will the vehicles be left on the sidewalk or elsewhere?

In “forced” parking zones (located in the downtown, St. Armands, and other densely populated or commercially
active areas) vehicles must be returned to an approved parking area. These can include parking corrals or certain
designated areas on sidewalks. Forced parking zones are noted on the Veo app with dash lines.

In “unforced” parking zones (located outside of densely populated or commercially active areas), vehicles can be
parked on sidewalks, provided they are not blocking the pathway or creating a trip hazard. They cannot be left in

roadways, handicap parking spaces, or other places that block doors or pedestrian pathways.

To find the nearest parking corral, please consult the Veo app. If a vehicle has been left in an inappropriate
location, please contact Veo at 855.VEO.2256 for a response.

A rider who leaves a scooter outside the Veo operating area may be assessed an extra fee by the company.


https://www.veoride.com/

Who will be allowed to rent?

Veo requires a user to be at least 18 years old and possess a valid driver’s license. Anyone under 18 is not permitted to
use the Veo equipment. Users are not allowed to “loan” the vehicle to anyone and maybe lose their privilege to rent in
the future.

Can scooters use the sidewalk?
Under Florida state law, scooters are treated like bicycles. Riders are strongly encouraged to stay off sidewalks.

Where bike lanes are available, or where speed limits are under 30 mph, they may use the active drive lane.

Will the scooters be allowed to cross the Ringling Bridge?

Yes. Under Florida state law, scooters are treated like bicycles. Users will be expected to follow state laws and
avoid crowded or narrow sidewalks. Similar to bicycles, the City requires users to travel on bike lanes/paths when
available.

How will riders be prevented from going places they shouldn’t, such as parking garages?
Through technology called “geo fencing,” boundaries can be established to restrict travel by scooters and bikes.
These boundaries are being set in coordination with the City’s Parking Management Division.

How much will it cost to rent a scooter or bike?
Scooter: S1 to unlock via mobile app; 37 cents per minute
Bicycle: 50 cents per half-hour ($1/hour); No unlocking fee

*Veo also provides a low access and income program for those that qualify. Contact Veo customer support at 855-
VEO-2256 or go to the Veo website www.VeoRide.com and locate the application for the Equity Manager.

How fast will the scooters travel?
Scooters will be limited to 15 mph, and riders can select training mode that restricts speed to 8 mph.

What will the hours of operation be?
Veo is allowed to rent scooters/bicycles 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily.

What about injury lawsuits?
The City will not be liable under the contractual agreement with Veo. Riders accept responsibility for use of the
units in advance.

How much is this costing the city?
The City is not paying for the program. Veo is paying for the initial infrastructure costs. The City will receive a
fraction of the revenue for each transaction.

How will rules be enforced?

Veo employs local staff who will repair and replace the vehicles and return misplaced scooters/bicycles to parking
corrals. The City can hold the company responsible through fines if issues are not properly addressed. If you find a
problem with a Veo vehicle, you may contact their customer service line at 855.VEQ.2256 for immediate assistance
in resolving the problem.


http://www.veoride.com/

